making food from anywhere, with anything

Easter Dinner


Hello Everyone.

For the first time since beginning college, I went home for Easter.  Although Easter does not seem to hold quite as much importance to our family as does Thanksgiving or Christmas, it still meant a lot to come home.  Of course, it means a lot any time I go home.

While most of my Easter memories involve a honey glazed ham of sorts, this year we decided to go with pork shoulder.  My appreciation for pork is growing (I never used to like it), and this recipe pushed me over the edge in to full-on pork love.

the glorious pork shoulder

I spotted the recipe here and thought it sounded delicious.  It involves braising the pork in a champagne vinegar mixture.  To be honest, I have never heard of champagne vinegar so this recipe was exciting.  New ingredients are always exciting.  I won’t bother reposting the recipe, as you can just follow the link over to Food & Wine.

As you can probably tell, the pork was damn good.  Perfectly cooked, if I may say so (I had nothing to do with the cooking, which is probably why!).  It was moist, tender, and fell apart when sliced with a fork.  For whatever reason, there ended up being about a half a gallon of sauce (yes, a half a gallon!) which is rather excessive.  Nevertheless, it was a delicious sauce.  I was wary of including the grapes, and we toyed with omitting them.  In the end, I’m glad we kept them in.  They added a subtle sweetness to the pork.  I personally hate the honey-glazed ham crap because I think it’s too sweet, so this was just the right amount of sweetness for my liking.

With the pork, my mom and I tried our hand at making dinner rolls.  We dug out the bread machine to use to make the dough.  To the original recipe, we added some thyme and tarragon so they would have a nice herby feel.

herbed dinner rolls

They came out really well for our first try at making them.  They were soft, and the egg wash made them look store bought (at least, I thought so).  They had a slight sweetness to them, which was really nice along with all the savory food.  The recipe was out of a cookbook we have at home.

In addition to the rolls, we had prosciutto-wrapped roasted asparagus with a citronette found here. The original recipe calls for pancetta, but we opted for prosciutto. This side dish could not be easier, and can be prepped the night before if need be.  All you have to do is wrap the asparagus in some prosciutto and keep them covered in the refrigerator until you are ready to cook them.  The citronette was actually really, really good.  It was a little sweet, and the citrus really balanced the intense salty flavor of the prosciutto well.

It has become a rather well-known and accepted fact that my mother makes the best deviled eggs, and these were certainly no exception.   Alex never had deviled eggs before visiting for Easter, and I would argue that these were probably the best introduction to this side dish.  Although deviled eggs are commonly had during the summer for picnics and such, we had lots of eggs and who doesn’t love deviled eggs?

For dessert, we bought a cheesecake.  It was really good, but I’m a little biased.

I think I can safely say that this was the most delicious Easter I’ve had yet.

3 responses

  1. alex

    God I can still remember it. Awesome stuff.

    13/04/2010 at 7:50 pm

  2. mom

    Looking at the pictures makes my mouth salivate! I can still taste the meal! The funniest part was all of us WOLFING down the meal and Alex ENJOYING the meal!

    14/04/2010 at 3:22 pm

  3. hahah yeah, i mean, i enjoyed it after my third helping! 🙂

    14/04/2010 at 6:19 pm

Leave a Reply

