making food from anywhere, with anything

beer and food


Good afternoon all, and happy spring!

Today, my friends and I took a trip to the Sam Adams Brewery in Jamaica Plain.  The tour itself is extremely interesting, and comes with the added bonus of being free.  It makes for a good day trip.

For those who are unfamiliar with the Boston area, Jamaica Plain is a really cool neighborhood.  It’s got a huge variety of neighborhoods dispersed among green spaces and landmarks.  Some neighborhoods are made up largely of Hispanic communities, while others are predominantly Jewish.  Although it’s going through a period of gentrification (lots of college students, activists, and other young professionals are moving in), I think it still maintains its culture.

Today we walked along Centre Street in search of some food after the brewery tour.  Initially we sought soul food, but ended up at Miami Restaurant in the Hyde Square area.  This neighborhood is mostly Hispanic, and I’ve never been disappointed by the food here (although, this is only the third restaurant I’ve been to in the area).

Everything in this place is reasonably priced, and the quality of food is beyond expectations.  I decided to get two appetizers, mofongo and a jamaican beef patty, with a side of tostones.

mofongo

What is mofongo?  Well, it’s mashed plaintains mixed with garlic and in this case, pork rinds.  The flavor is out of this world.  The mellow plaintains are spiked with just the right amount of garlic.  The crunchy pork rinds add a perfect textural contrast to the softness of the plaintains.  And it was sprinkled lightly with salt.  Although this is an appetizer, it’s fairly large so it makes a good entree for just $7.  If you want an actual entree, they do serve a seafood mofongo, which I bet is insanely good.

jamaican beef patty

Embarrassingly, I have never had a Jamaican beef patty.  I’ve heard so much about them, but for whatever reason we have never crossed paths.  Today, it finally happened.

Meat encased in dough is a huge cross-cultural staple.  Eastern Europeans have pierogies, Hispanics have empanadas, and Jamaicans have these delicious things.  The crunchy yet soft dough gave way to incredibly well-seasoned and spicy ground beef on the inside.  For $2, they are more than worth getting.

To go along with these items, I decided to get a side of tostones.  Tostones are just fried unripe plantains.  While comparable to french fries, I think they’re a way better alternative.  They are very starchy, but have a softer texture than potatoes or yucca (yucca also makes an awesome french fries substitute).  For $3, you get a lot of tostones, as you can see below.

tostones

To top it off, I decided to get a mango milkshake.  It was REALLY good. It wasn’t too thick so I could actually drink it along with my meal.  For this warm day, it was very refreshing.  All in all, my meal cost about $16, and I have a ton of leftovers for later (which I am very much looking forward to).  If you’re in the Boston area, check out this place in Jamaica Plain – I can’t wait to head back to check out some of the other very tempting menu items.

Tomorrow’s dinner?  I’m thinking filipino adobo with oxtails and chicken?  Mmm….oxtails……

Leave a Reply

