making food from anywhere, with anything

an odd number of eggs


Good evening, everyone.

I am officially on spring break!  Tomorrow morning, I’ll be on my way back to New Jersey.  Ah, home.

Anyway, in yet another concerted effort to clear out the fridge, I made an omelet.  This is actually the first omelet I’ve made in this kitchen, now that I think about it.  When deciding what to do for dinner tonight, I felt like some breakfast.  Too bad I had no bacon.

Making an omelet is a good way to use up a lot of eggs, I discovered.  The flavor and texture of this omelet were stepped up a bit with the use of my new favorite ingredient: creme fraiche.  I believe I’ve mentioned that I don’t buy milk, so this was an awesome, dairy-centric alternative to throwing a little water into the beaten eggs.  Because I also had quite a bit of spinach left, I decided to have a spinach salad topped with pecans along with my…spinach and feta omelet.

spinach and feta omelet

Ingredients:

3 eggs

1/4 cup creme fraiche

a few handfuls of spinach

1-2 TBSP crumbled feta cheese

1-2 TBSP olive oil

pepper to taste

1/2 TBSP dried oregano

Method:

1. get some olive oil heated over medium in a saute pan.

2. while that heats, break the eggs into a bowl.  beat them lightly.  add the creme fraiche and whisk until combined.  if your creme fraiche just came out of the refrigerator (as mine had), it’ll take about 3 minutes for it to come together – not a big deal.

3. add some pepper and the oregano. mix well.

4. add the egg mixture to the pan.  i’ll assume you’ve never made an omelet before, just to be on the safe side.  after you’ve added the eggs to the pan, drag the egg edges toward the center.  let that sit for a minute or so, then repeat. you want as much of the raw egg to hit the pan as possible.  if there’s still too much gooey egg in the center for you, tilt the pan so it spills toward the edges.  add as much spinach and feta as you want at this point, and try to keep it to one side (i find this makes folding a bit easier when there’s nothing in the middle).  shake the pan back and forth.  if the omelet does not stick and moves as well, it’s probably done.  check the bottom of the omelet.  is it brown?  if yes, then flip one side over and you’re done.  there are many methods of making an omelet, and this is just one.  well, it’s my way.  some people don’t like any browning.  some people don’t like any runny egg mess.

5. fold one side, serve.

I’m continually marveled by creme fraiche.  I can’t lie – at first, the texture and taste didn’t really agree with me.  However now, I want to eat it out of the tub (gross fantasy, I know.  but hey, there are worse things).  The creme fraiche makes the eggs creamy and fluffy, just the way they should be in my opinion.  It also adds a hint of subtle, tangy flavor to the rich egg yolks.  Very nice.

I did make a spinach salad to go along with this.  And by make, I mean I put spinach in a bowl, drizzled some balsamic vinegar over it, and threw some pecans on top.  It was nice.

spinach salad with pecans

Omelets are one of the most versatile dishes.  You can do some serious experimentation with them.  Unfortunately, I was limited to what I was purposely trying to use up, but I may just have to start buying eggs more regularly…

Well, that does it for the ‘use everything that will rot in a week’ week.  It was fun throwing random things together.  Although I’ll be on break, I’ll definitely be updating.  I’ve been thinking about adding a page about restaurants in both New Jersey and Boston.  So, even if I’m not cooking, I’ll certainly be eating (and writing)!

One response

  1. Pingback: oeufs et asperge « everything but the baa

Leave a Reply

