making food from anywhere, with anything

my first attempt at hor d’oeuvres


Good morning everyone.  I never post in the mornings, now that I think about it.

Last night, we hosted a friend’s surprise 21st birthday party at our apartment.  I offered to make hor d’oeuvres, which was pretty exciting.  I’ve never made food for a large group of people before, and I’ve definitely never made appetizers.  I didn’t want to cop out and grab frozen shit to throw in the oven before guests arrive (although it was definitely a plan B).  Initially, I had too many ideas for what to make, but I chose these four things:

In the spirit of chips-and-dip, I decided to try my hand at making my own pita chips, along with an olive tapenade.

number 1

pita chip with olive tapenade

As I have no food processor, I had to chop the olives by hand.  It was a lot of olives.  I figured if people could make tapenade before the advent of food processors, I could do it too.

Homemade Pita Chips

5 mini pita pockets

herbs of your choice

olive oil

salt (optional)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Cut the pitas into little triangles.  Separate the fronts from the backs.  Place on a baking sheet lined with either foil or parchment paper.  Brush a little olive oil onto the triangles and place herbs and/or salt on top of that.  Bake for about 5-10 minutes, or until desired level of crispiness is reached.  Because these are so thin, they’ll cook quickly (which is why I had the oven fairly low for this kind of job) so keep an eye on them.

Olive Tapenade adapted from here

1 – 1 1/2 cups of pitted kalamata olives

a few tablespoons of olive oil

Method:

Chop up olives (if you have a food processor, this is when you use it) and combine with olive oil.

Along similar lines of chips and dip is this next appetizer.  I wanted at least two hor d’oeuvres that people could take large quantities of at once and go.

spice roasted chick peas

Spice Roasted Chick Peas adapted from here

1 1lb bag of dried chick peas

garam masala

ground cayenne pepper

olive oil

Method:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Soak chick peas over night in water.  If you can’t do this, or forgot to like I did, boil them until they are plump and a little al dente.

Pat them dry, and put them in a roasting pan, or any baking sheet with raised sides.  Add a few tablespoons of olive oil, and coat the chick peas thoroughly.  Throw the spices on them.  I wanted mine to be very flavorful, so I spiced them pretty heavily.  Roast for about 40-50 minutes, depending on the level of crunchiness you want.

I enjoyed the spicing on those because the cayenne pepper was not overpowering at all.  It was a subtle, unexpected kick right after you swallowed the pea.  I love surprises.

During the summer, my family and I went to Washington DC for a few days.  Incidentally, my friend whose birthday we were celebrating lives outside of DC and works at this Spanish restaurant in the city.  It’s called Jaleo, and after hearing such good things about the tapas there, my family and I had dinner there one night.  Unfortunately, my friend was in Miami while we were in DC so we did not get to see him.  One of the recommended tapas at Jaleo is the bacon-wrapped dates.  Initially the combination sounded a little weird to me, but this was before I was a foodie (in fact, I kind of attribute that DC trip to my burgeoning food obsession).  They are absolutely delicious.  The dates are gooey and so sweet, while the bacon is crunchy and salty.  This perfect combination beats chocolate covered pretzels hands down.  So drawing inspiration from Jaleo, I attempted bacon-wrapped dates. (Excuse the bad photography, at this point there were a lot of people in the apartment and getting an artsy photo was pretty difficult!)

bacon-wrapped dates

Bacon Wrapped Dates

1 box pitted dates (or you can use fresh dates, which would probably be better)

1/2 lb bacon

Method:

Cut each slice of bacon in half horizontally to make two skinny slices, and then cut those in half vertically.  Wrap each date with these slices and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or foil, seam side down.

You can do this ahead of time and place them in the refrigerator (which is what I did).  When you’re ready to bake, put them in a 350F oven for about 30 minutes, or until the desired level of crispiness is reached.  When they’re done, place them on a paper towel lined plate to drain the grease.

And finally, the most challenging hor d’oeuvre of the night.  Phyllo triangles.  I’ve never worked with phyllo before, and it’s something I’ve always wanted to try.  It intimidated me.  A lot.  Initially, I wanted to make phyllo triangles stuffed with feta cheese, a walnut, and pomegranate seeds.  However, I could not find a pomegranate to save my life, so I had to switch things around.  Instead of walnuts, I used pecans.  And, instead of pomegranate seeds, I used banana slices.  Banana and feta? What? It works.  Ooohhh, it works.

phyllo triangles stuffed with banana, feta, and pecans

The first sheet of phyllo I tried to work with was way too dry so it just crumbled everywhere.  The first four triangles I made were absolute rejects; it took a few tries to get used to folding the dough.  As with any baking or cooking (this is the best part about making Christmas cookies), the rejects become the tests.  When my roommate tested a triangle and liked it, I was beyond relieved.  To be honest, I wasn’t totally sure about the feta and banana combination, but it was great.  The bananas provided a really subtle hint of sweetness, while the feta added that hit of salty brine.  And the pecan topped it off with that meaty, nutty bite.  So good.  This was one of everyone’s favorites.

Phyllo triangles stuffed with Banana, Feta, and Pecans adapted from here

1 package of phyllo dough, thawed.

2 bananas, sliced

pecans

feta cheese, crumbled

olive oil or melted butter

Method:

1. Slice the bananas, get the pecans, get your feta.  You absolutely want to have everything ready before you start working with the dough.

2. Take out thawed dough.  Place on a dry surface (I used a baking sheet) and cover with a layer of plastic wrap, followed by a damp towel.  Take out one sheet of dough.  Lay it on a dry surface.  Brush it with either olive oil or butter.  Put another layer of dough on top of that.  This is where I stopped (because I wanted to have as many triangles as possible while using only one package of dough).  You can continue this for up to 4 layers, however.

3. Cut the dough lengthwise.  Place one slice of banana, one pecan, and one or two chunks of feta at the top of the slice.  Here is how to roll.

4.  Continue until you’re finished.  You can store these rolls in the refrigerator for 1-2 hours before you’re ready to bake them.  When ready to bake, place the rolls on a baking sheet lined with foil or parchment paper, and brush the tops with either olive oil or melted butter (butter is always better).  Bake at 350F for about 25-30 minutes, or until sufficiently browned.  Keep a watch on them, as they’ll burn easily.

All right, that concludes the epic hor d’oeurves post.  Tonight, I’m making chili for dinner.  Good hangover food?  We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

