making food from anywhere, with anything

leftover week


Hello everyone.

This week, my goal is to polish off all the leftovers I’ve amassed over the past several weeks.  As such, there are no new meals to post here.

There are, however, side dishes.  As most of my frozen leftovers are frozen as portioned meals unto themselves, I don’t see a need to make them anew (except with leftover roast chicken and the like…then some creativity comes into play).  I do, however, need new sides to go with them.

Tonight, I planned to have some leftover spaghetti.  What to have with it, though?  What, besides nice crusty bread, goes with pasta?  I decided a salad of garlicy wilted spinach, peppers, celery, and capers would go well.

garlic wilted spinach with peppers, celery and capers

Ingredients

2 generous handfuls of washed spinach

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 red bell pepper, sliced

3 celery ribs, chopped

2 tbsp capers

freshly ground black pepper

Method

1. chop and mince. go at it. get organized. etc.

2. in a large skillet with sides, heat the oil over medium heat.  once the oil is fragrant, put in the garlic and sautee for about 1 minute.  add the peppers, celery and spinach.  stir occasionally so everything is evenly coated and mixed.  add the pepper, and be generous.  cook for about 10-15 minutes, or until the spinach looks sufficiently wilted.

3. add the capers, and some more pepper.  no need for salt, the capers have you covered.  remove from heat and serve.

Could not be easier, especially if you’re in one of those I-just-got-home-from-the-gym-and-I’m-starving moods, or you just want something quick and easy.

I’m really interested in getting more creative with my breakfasts and lunches, particularly for the weekends and for days when I have extra time in the mornings.  Although I thoroughly enjoy my

english muffin with apple butter

daily English muffin with apple butter for breakfast,

pumpkin and peanut butter sandwich

as well as my grilled pumpkin and peanut butter sandwich for lunch,I’d really love to have a wider variety of recipes to share.  I think it would be good for all of us.

Tomorrow night with my leftover thareed, I intend to make Moroccan-inspired glazed carrots.  Seems like a fitting fusion.

Leave a Reply

