making food from anywhere, with anything

comfort food week comes to a close


Hello all.

Last night, I got Chinese takeout to have while watching a movie.  There is something comforting about having Chinese while watching movies.

In spirit of comfort food, I rounded out the week with one of my favorite meals: sausage, peppers and onions on a hard roll.  I don’t know why, but it’s one dish that really reminds me of home.  We aren’t Italian but, we make this dish often.  I actually associate it with the Kutztown festival in Kutztown, Pennsylvania.  It’s a celebratory festival of Pennsylvania-Dutch culture full of kitschy arts and crafts, and REALLY good sausages.  As a kid, I always looked forward to having a good sausage, peppers and onions sandwich…along with funnel cake afterward.  My family and I would go to the festival around 4th of July, and we’d pick up fireworks to smuggle back to New Jersey on our way home.  Ah, writing this is making me homesick and nostalgic.

Sausage, Peppers and Onions

I picked up this sausage from Trader Joe’s.  To be honest, I wasn’t really impressed with it.  I forget which kind of sausage I picked up, but I think next time I’d go for a spicier one. I cooked two sausages so I could have leftovers for lunch tomorrow or something.

Ingredients

2 sausages

2 hard rolls

1 bell pepper, sliced

1 onion, thinly sliced

tomato sauce

olive oil

pepper

Method

1. chop everything, get your ingredients together.

2. in a large skillet, heat some olive oil over medium heat.  once fragrant, dump the onions in there.  stirring occasionally, cook them until they are starting to brown.  add the pepper slices, and cook until the onion has completely caramelized.

3. as for the sausage, i used my george foreman grill.  if you have one, set it on medium heat and cook the sausages for about 6 minutes.  you can also bake the sausages at 350F degrees for about 20-30 minutes, or sautee them in a skillet until they have browned nicely, and are no longer pink.

4. heat up some tomato sauce (i highly recommend making your own) in a small saucepan.

Put the sausage in the bun, load it up with some peppers and onions, slather on some sauce and you’ve got an awesome, easy, flavorful dinner.  I love the smell and taste of caramelized onions.  It is by far one of my favorite condiments/accompaniments.   And the sweet bell peppers balance the saltiness of the sausage really well.  I got this really tasty wheat roll from a local market, which was crisp and crusty on the outside, and soft on the inside.  Perfect.

Leave a Reply

