making food from anywhere, with anything

a pretty simple use for pumpkin puree


Happy Friday, everyone.  Glad the week is over?  I, as always, am.

Last night I found a can of pumpkin puree in my cabinet.  I don’t know what I was intending to do with it, as I bought it in the autumn before Thanksgiving.  Perhaps I was hoping to make a bread.

For breakfast, I usually have an English muffin with some kind of spread.  Strawberry-rhubarb preserves, apple butter, raspberry preserves, etc.  I’m sure you can see where this is going.  Although I have a jar of apple butter currently in use, why not add some variety and make pumpkin butter?

This recipe is pretty easy to improvise.  Most recipes call for either apple juice or apple cider, but I really didn’t want the taste of apples near my pumpkin butter.

Ingredients

1 15 oz can of pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling.  DO NOT let that crap anywhere near anything you ever make with pumpkin)

3 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp ginger

1/4 c sugar (give or take. I may have used less, you may want to use more if you like a sweeter spread)

1/2 c water

Method

Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan.  Bring to a boil, then simmer, stirring often.  You can take it off the heat whenever you feel it’s thick enough.  If you want it really thick and concentrated, leave it on up to 30 minutes.  I let this go for about 10-15 minutes.  It’s about the consistency of apple butter (maybe a little thicker).

pumpkin butter

It tastes a lot like pumpkin pie, but not as thick and heavy.  Definitely licked the spoon….and the bowl…..

Leave a Reply

