making food from anywhere, with anything

breakfast for dinner, a wonderful thing.


Happy Hump Day, everyone.

Usually my Wednesdays are leftover days because I get out of class rather late.  However, I strayed from routine and ate my leftover chicken biryani yesterday.  Paying for overpriced popcorn and candy didn’t really appeal, so I ate while waiting in line to see a free screening of “Shutter Island” (which comes out Friday and I highly recommend seeing it).  Tonight’s dinner choices are fairly limited, as the only leftover meal I have thawed in the fridge is pasta (ugh).  I totally forgot I bought eggs this Monday (I rarely buy them), and decided to experiment (at least within the limits of my pantry).   Eggs could not be easier to cook (I say this without having poached one), and while terribly bored at work, I came up with this recipe for a light dinner – of course, this could be a breakfast and lunch dish as well. Since I had Manchego cheese on hand, I ran with a Spanishesque theme. Why the hell not.

Scrambled Eggs with Caramelized Onions, Paprika, Manchego cheese, and toast
serves 1
2 eggs
1 1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 sprig rosemary, minced finely
3 sprigs thyme, minced finely
1/2 onion, thinly sliced
2 slices of manchego cheese cut into small pieces, plus more for garnish if desired
freshly ground pepper & salt to taste
1 slice rye bread, toasted (or two, depending on the size of your bread, your hunger, etc.)
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2-1 tbsp butter
water or milk

Scrambled Eggs

method

1.chop herbs, onions, cheese, etc.
2.in a small skillet, heat up the 1/2-1 tbsp butter over medium-high heat.  once foaming, add the sliced onion.  you can season these with pepper or whatever other spice you want.  sautee until completely caramelized – about 8 minutes or so.  stir every now and then to avoid sticking and burning.
3.while the onions are happening, whisk egg and milk/water together in a mixing bowl.  add the paprika, rosemary, thyme, sliced cheese, salt & pepper to taste.  you might want to throw your toast on now, too.
4.in a larger skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  once fragrant, dump the egg mixture in.  assuming you’ve never made scrambled eggs before, rake your spatula from all sides of the pan toward the center, creating lumps in the egg mix.  continue this, swirling and stirring as much or as little as you want.  you want chunks of egg to be your result, basically.  it takes maybe about 5-7 minutes for this to cook.
5.remove eggs from skillet, put on a plate.  garnish with some paprika and cheese.

note: you can opt to add the cheese once the eggs are in the skillet instead of putting it in the egg mixture.  I did not use milk because I have none, and felt that the cheese would add a little extra fluff to the eggs if combined beforehand.

I love breakfast for dinner. Had I any challah or brioche, I would’ve made french toast instead. Nevertheless, this light and fragrant dish wins.

Tomorrow? Golabki!!

Leave a Reply

