making food from anywhere, with anything

butter really is always better.


Good evening, everyone.

For whatever reason, I didn’t have much of an appetite today.  I guess it happens.  I would have just defaulted to leftover mushroom soup for tonight, but that meat for the salade d’onglet was ready to be cooked.

So, sour stomach in tow, I persevered.

salade d'onglet

(Excuse the shoddy picture)

Anyway, here’s the actual recipe for salade d’onglet, and then I’ll share with you what I did a bit differently.

Ingredients:

12 oz/340g onglet steak cut into 1.5oz/42g pieces

For the  marinade

0.5 oz/14g fresh ginger, grated

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped (anthony bourdain notes that if a garlic press is used, you will go to hell.)

4TBSP/56ml soy sauce

For the sauce

salt and pepper

2TBSP/28g butter

1/4cup/56ml white wine

1/4cup/56ml dark chicken stock or veal stock (plus a spoon of demi glace if you have it)

2TBSP/28ml soy sauce

1/8oz/3g fresh ginger, grated

1 garlic clove thinly sliced

1 sprig of flat parsley, chopped

For the salad

4oz/112g mesclun mix

1 shallot, thinly sliced

1/4cup/56ml red wine vinaigrette

Procedure

For the marinade:  In a bowl, mix the ginger, garlic and soy sauce well.  You can either place this in a ziplock bag with your meat, or you can put your meat and marinade in a bowl, cover, and refrigerate over night.  I put mine in a ziplock bag, gave it a good squish together, and threw it in the fridge.

To cook:  Remove the meat from the marinade and pat it dry.  Season it with some salt and pepper (though, I’d forgo the salt since you’re using soy sauce).  Place a saute pan over high heat and add 1 TBSP/14g of butter.  When the butter has foamed, add the meat.  Add a little at a time if you’re running the risk of overcrowding.  Sear each side for 3 minutes.  Set the meat aside on a plate.

Now, deglaze.  Stir in the wine, scraping the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon.  Cook until the pan is almost dry, then add the stock and soy sauce and reduce by half.  Add the remaining ginger and sliced garlic and cook for like 30 seconds.  Then, whisk in the remaining butter.  Return the meat to the pan and cook for about a minute.  Sprinkle with the parsley and remove from the heat.

For the salad:  get a bowl, put the salad in, put the vinaigrette on top (or whatever dressing you want to use).

I have yet to hunt down a good butcher, so I did not have an onglet steak.  I used stew meat, which was fine because this was marinaded over night.  I also don’t have wine.  So instead, I used red wine vinegar.  I didn’t have white wine vinegar, but it worked.  Instead of the chicken stock, I used some of this leftover balsamic vinegar-herby sauce that I made for the poulet roti.  It had butter in it, so I omitted the whisking in of extra butter.  Other than that, I kept the recipe pretty much the same.  It was VERY flavorful, and very home-cooked feeling.  I was extremely satisfied with how this came out (when my roommate walked in, she remarked how good everything smelled – always a good sign).  It was also very easy, not at all labor-intensive, making it a good weeknight dish.

I highly recommend this recipe.

Leave a Reply

