making food from anywhere, with anything

a preview of the week ahead…


Hello all.

I hope this week went well for everyone.  I am having a bit of a hard time adjusting to this semester’s new schedule, but otherwise things are moving along.

I have an interesting menu planned for the next few days.  Since my schedule doesn’t permit me to cook every day of the week, I have to compensate for it on the weekends (which actually allows me to enjoy making the food).  It’s going to be a bit of a fusion week, beginning with tomorrow’s big dinner.  I am finally going to be breaking in my copy of Anthony Bourdain’s Les Halles Cookbook by making his poulet roti.  This, as you know, is just a roasted chicken.  He employs a French-style of cooking, which is going to be fun trying out.  Admittedly, I have never tried a French recipe before (can’t wait to start cooking from my Julia Child cookbook!).  I think I am going to make a potato dish to go along with the chicken (perhaps some purple potatoes).  As I will have a chicken carcass on hand, I am going to try making my own dark chicken stock on Saturday.  It should be great for a lazy day.

Khoresh Karafs

Saturday and Sunday, I will be experimenting with Persian food.  Saturday, I’ll try making Khoresh Karafs (the source of the recipe can be found by clicking on the picture), which is a celery stew.

Sunday, I will attempt to make khoresht-e ghormeh sabzi (another stew), whose recipes can be found all over the internet.  It’s a popular dish, and I’m excited to try it out!

Monday, I’ll be returning to the Les Halles Cookbook for a mushroom soup.  I personally love mushrooms.  They are so meaty and earthy.  Perhaps I will make a spinach salad with some tomatoes and carrots to go along with this dish.

Finally on Tuesday, I will try making salade d’onglet. This recipe, yet another from Bourdain, requires an onglet (hanger)

salade d'onglet

cut of steak.  It’s hard to find this cut in a general grocery store, so if you’re really into meat, hit up a butcher.  I’m not so keen on red meat (this is the first time since living here I have bought it), so I just bought stew meat.  The recipe involves marinading the meat, so it should work out well.  Accompanying the beef will be a spinach salad with a red wine vinaigrette.

Whew!  Hopefully this all gets accomplished!  I’ll have recipes and pictures for you of my attempts within the coming week!

Leave a Reply

