making food from anywhere, with anything

a bit of an introduction


I love food.  I love trying new food, cooking new food, and learning about cuisines from all over.

I respect food.  I realize that every culture has its own staples, and regardless of how unfamiliar or unthinkable they may be to my palette (or yours), they are to be appreciated.

Food does not need to be cooked by a Michelin starred chef for it to be good (although, it would be damn good).  You don’t need to spend your entire paycheck on organic-only specialty ingredients to produce an amazing dish.  One of my favorite chefs, Anthony Bourdain, put it simply: “You must ultimately respect your ingredients, however lowly they might be. Just as you must respect your guests, however witless and unappreciative they might be. Ultimately, you are cooking for yourself.”

Food is powerful.  It touches all the senses, a skill which few other things possess.  On a primal level, food is fundamental to our survival.  It is a privilege to be able to freely choose what to eat, how to eat it, and when.  Most of all, food is a way of life.

I’m a third year college undergrad cooking from a small apartment with what some would consider meager equipment.  I want to share my experiences with food, whether I’m making it myself, or visiting a fantastic restaurant.

I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

