making food from anywhere, with anything

sweet and savory


Hello everyone.

I feel like it has rained every Tuesday for the past month.  It’s starting to bum me out.

So, to lift my spirits, I made something special for lunch today.  And by special, I mean not a sandwich.

strawberries and almond butter on lavash

Yummm.  It is spring, which means strawberries.  These, unfortunately, were the last of my little stash.  The almond butter and strawberry combination is one of the most mood-lifting tastes out there.  Something about strawberries always puts me in a good mood, though.  I slathered a piece of lavash bread (a Lebanese flatbread) with almond butter (the more, the better in my opinion) and topped it with about 5 sliced strawberries.  Then, roll.

mmm....

So, it comes out kind of like a skinny burrito of sorts.  But it’s so, so good.  And not to mention, healthy.  I try not to endorse the “EAT THIS, AND A LOT OF IT….BECAUSE IT’S HEALTHY” attitude that so often circulates throughout mainstream culture in the US, but this is damn good.  Drizzle a little honey over top the strawberries and almond butter for a little something extra, and you’ve got an awesome lunch.  There’s tons of protein in the almond butter, this lavash bread has a lot of fiber to it, and strawberries are full of carbohydrates (among many other good things) to keep you energized throughout your afternoon.

And now, for dinner.  In keeping with the berry theme my lunch ran with, I made some chicken with a raspberry and red wine vinegar sauce. The original recipe is blackberry and balsamic roast quail…but I had neither quail nor blackberries, so chicken thighs and raspberries worked.  I haven’t been using my red wine vinegar lately, so I used it instead of the seemingly omnipresent balsamic vinegar.

Chicken with a Raspberry and Red Wine Vinegar Sauce adapted from here

2 chicken thighs

1/2 c raspberries

1/2 c red wine vinegar

2 tsp thyme

salt and pepper

generous bunch of collard greens

extra virgin olive oil

1/2 onion, chopped

Method

1.  Heat vinegar and raspberries in a small saucepan.  Mash the raspberries and reduce the liquid to half the volume, add in thyme, salt, pepper – set aside and let cool.

2.  Heat some olive oil over medium-high heat.  Saute onions until translucent or caramelized, then transfer to raspberry mix.

3. Heat some more olive oil over medium heat in a large saute pan with sides.  Add the collard greens.  Cover and cook until wilted.  Add some salt and pepper.

4.  Rinse and pat dry the chicken thighs.  Coat with salt and pepper.  In yet another saute pan, heat some oil over medium.  Add the chicken, and cook for 3-4 minutes on each side, or until chicken is firm to the touch.

5.  Pour sauce over chicken, serve.

chicken with raspberry sauce

I’ve gotta say, the sauce was really good.  I’m not a huge fan of the sweet-savory combination, but this was good.  I made some deviations from the original recipe, as you can see.  I definitely intend to try the original recipe at some point, it looks delicious.

And for dessert, I had (a lot of) cheese and a pear.  I love cheese.

All right, perhaps Thursday I will make a second attempt at tahdig using lavash bread instead of potatoes.  Though, what to make with the tahdig is still being decided….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.